Today, I celebrate…

My big goal for 2012 is simple. Make every day a celebration. No matter what happens, how I feel, or what’s going on in the world around me, I will find something to celebrate in some way every day. It doesn’t have to be a big deal – indeed, most often the little moments are the best ones anyway. And every now and then, when the mood strikes, I’ll post about my daily celebration.

Today, I celebrate a little moment in family history…

Some months ago, my mom handed me a cassette tape and said, “I don’t know what to do with this. Do you know how to convert it to digital?” That tape has been on my desk for the past few months, getting shuffled around with all the paperwork – until today. I finally found all the right equipment and software and converted it to an mp3 file.

Nana Roses and mom, in the kitchen

I enjoyed listening to my grandmother’s voice as she was interviewed by a family friend in about 1996, just a few years before her death… this is my mom’s mother, whom I affectionately called Nana Roses (her name was Rosena and she was born in 1904). She talked about a variety of things on the tape, but I loved the part where she discusses her recipe for “Dark Cookies” –  also known as molasses cookies…be sure to listen for her comments about measuring ingredients and done-ness, and the merits of using lard. Take a listen:

“Ah…. the richness of lard…” hehe

I wonder what she would say about my vegan snickerdoodles?

Let’s go make some cookies in honor of Nana Roses…

(Oh, and mom, the whole tape is now digitized and on it’s way to you via US mail.)

One thought on “Today, I celebrate…

Leave a Reply

